Ongoing Project

I’m working on a pattern book–well, a pattern e-book–of single skein crochet projects.

The idea is simple: twenty-five projects, all crochet, all using a single skein of yarn.  But not just any single skein of yarn.  A single skein of yarn you can go to Wal-Mart and buy.

See, I don’t know about the rest of y’all, but I can’t (especially now, sans husband/breadwinner) go spend $15 or $20 on a skein of yarn.

This is the first project (well, the second, but I’m absentminded enough to have lost the directions for the first) I’ve got so far:

The first picture is Bobbie, the second Esther.  They’re wearing the same poncho.  I crocheted it with Caron Simply Soft, using a K hook.  It’s one of the ultra simple two-rectangle ponchos, with a round of single crochet at the neckline to keep it from stretching out of shape, and a flower applique on the front point.  I’m rather proud of it, as it’s a one-size-fits-most-kids thing.

There are already two one-skein pattern books in print that I know of.  Thing is, both are overwhelmingly knitting patterns.  And that sticks in my craw, because there are so many crochet patterns out there, and projects possible, that use one skein or less of yarn.

So I’m putting together my own.

Input as to what type of projects I should include is much appreciated.

3 responses to “Ongoing Project

  1. Love the poncho and your models are adorable : )

  2. Very cute!!

  3. Hi!!! I’m Italian and I love birds crochet patterns… I have seen on Your blog page of march 2006 You have the pattern of “Quirky the Blue Bird”… I’d like to have this too… could You help me please?
    Warmest Regards from Italy…
    ;o)

Leave a Reply

